James Henry to receive Ufer Award, Dale Bahr and Steve Burns presented Honorary M's
James Henry
Sept. 23, 2015

Ann Arbor, Michigan - The Letterwinners M Club is pleased to announce its honorary award recipients for 2015. The M Club annually recognizes select individuals who, through their love for Michigan, have demonstrated outstanding service to University of Michigan Athletics.

Since it was first awarded in 1864, a varsity letter earned at the University of Michigan has been one of the most prestigious honors in collegiate athletics. An Honorary M is presented to those who did not earn a varsity athletic letter at Michigan but have demonstrated outstanding service to the Athletic Department. This year the M Club is presenting Honorary M awards to Mr. Dale Bahr and Steve Burns.

Dale Bahr
Dale Bahr
Dale Bahr began his collegiate career in 1965 where, under the tutelage of former Michigan standout and coaching legend Harold Nichols, Bahr was an NCAA champion and three-time All-American at Iowa State University. Bahr became the head wrestling coach at Algona High School (1968--1974) where he won an IAHSAA team championship, and shortly thereafter, was named an assistant coach at ISU until he was hired by Don Canham as the head coach of the University of Michigan wrestling program in 1978.

Bahr led Michigan Wrestling for over 21 years and was largely responsible for the numerous, longstanding traditions and continued growth of the program. He accumulated a career record of 221-119-6 and ranks second only to the legendary Cliff Keen among Michigan's career wins leaders. Bahr coached two NCAA individual champions, 43 All-Americans and 13 Big Ten champions. After retiring from coaching, Bahr took an administrative position as an assistant athletic director, overseeing nine sports and many U-M summer camps. In 2012 Dale Bahr was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Steve Burns
Steve Burns
Steve Burns was the first head coach of the University of Michigan men's soccer team. As an undergrad, Burns earned a Bachelor of Science degree in aerospace engineering (1989) and a Master of Science degree in Kinesiology (1998) from the University of Michigan. He was a member of the Michigan club soccer team, serving as team captain from 1986--1988.

Steve is largely responsible for building the foundation for a program that today is among the nation's elite. After serving one year as assistant coach for the Michigan men's club soccer team, Burns assumed the role of head coach in 1993. Under his guidance, Michigan won back-to-back national club championship titles in 1997 and 1998; the culmination of six consecutive appearances in the national club championship tournament. Since guiding Michigan Soccer from club to varsity status, Burns lead his 2010 team to the pinnacle of the collegiate men's soccer scene by advancing to the programs first-ever NCAA College Cup (equivalent to the Final Four) and capturing the 2010 Big Ten Tournament title. Burns was named the 2010 NCAA Division I "National Coach of the Year" by FieldTurf, an NSCAA National Coach of the Year Finalist, and named top coach on campus the same year.

James Henry is the 2015 recipient of the Letterwinners M Club's Ufer Award, the highest honor presented to a member of the Letterwinners M Club. A 1980 Michigan graduate, Henry earned a bachelor's degree in education, while lettering four years on the Wolverine track and field team (1977-80), specializing in the long jump. He began his coaching career in 1981 as an assistant with the Michigan men's and women's track and field teams, working with U-M's first women's track coach, Red Simmons and then Francie Kraker Goodridge, who assumed the helm in 1982. Henry has been a part of every Michigan team that has won a Big Ten title since the Wolverines captured their first crown in 1982 -- an indoor championship. In 1985, legendary U-M Athletic Director Don Canham hired Henry as the third head coach in the history of the program. Henry guided Michigan to seven top-30 finishes at the NCAA Championships in his first five years at the helm, adding 10 All-America honors to the resumes of his student-athletes in the process.

Henry recently completed his 31st season at the helm of the Michigan women's track and field program. Henry's teams have garnered 171 NCAA All-America honors and 198 All-Big Ten honors, taking 192 Big Ten titles, nine individual national championships and four national championship relay titles. In the classroom, Henry's student-athletes have earned 424 Academic All-Big Ten honors, eight Big Ten Medals of Honor (awarded for the highest demonstration of scholarship and athletic ability), three NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships and 14 Capital One Academic All-America honors.

About the Letterwinners M Club
Since it was first awarded in 1864, a varsity letter earned at the University of Michigan has been one of the most prestigious honors in collegiate athletics. The Letterwinners M Club is proud to serve as the connection between Michigan varsity athletes past and present. It strives to help all letterwinners after their days at Michigan are over by uniting an established, influential network that spans the world. Together we carry on the life-long commitment to leadership and excellence entrusted to us as Michigan Men and Women.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago