Kimball, Wheatley Will Enter Michigan Sports HOF
Tyrone Wheatley was named the 1993 Rose Bowl MVP after setting a bowl-game record with 235 yards rushing and three touchdowns.

Nov. 13, 2012

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. -- Two former Michigan greats -- diver Dick Kimball and running back Tyrone Wheatley -- have been selected as part of the 57th induction class for the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame, announced Monday night (Nov. 12) at an announcement event held at the Palace of Auburn Hills. Kimball and Wheatley are among the eight individuals in this year's induction class.

Dick Kimball was the Wolverines' diving coach for 43 years, coaching from 1960-2002. He was part of five NCAA national championship teams and 33 Big Ten Conference championship teams with the U-M men and women as both a student-athlete and coach. His recognition from those teams include being named the NCAA Diving Coach of the Year in 1984 for men and women while also earning the honor as the women's Coach of the Year in 1988. On the conference level, Kimball earned the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year on four different occasions. Kimball had seven Big Ten women's diving champions to his credit and nine men that combined for 11 titles.

As a collegiate diver, Kimball was a member of three NCAA championship swimming and diving teams at Michigan from 1957-59. In 1957, he won the NCAA championship in both the one-meter and three-meter springboard events. In addition, Kimball was the Professional World Diving champion in 1963.

To read the rest of this story click here.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago