M Club 2018 Update

Seasons come and seasons go. For the Letterwinners M Club, our season ended on June 2 with a brisk, yet successful M Day at the University Golf Course. President Andy Matthews welcomed the 110 participants into the post golf luncheon with the good news about the M Club initiatives, and introduced our annual $10,000 postgraduate scholarship winner, Michael Hendrickson (link to article about Michael), who thanked the club and the membership for this prestigious honor. 

We are looking forward to our annual Grand Hotel event July 13-15, after which we will focus our energies on the 2018-19 seasons, with all the events, recognitions, and awards to come! The Board of the Letterwinners will remain intact for this year, while we have added two new members-at-large to begin their board service in the fall.

Welcome to Debbie Haines-Stephens, softball 1982, who joins the board after retirement as the President of Dow Chemical, Canada ULC. During her successful tenure with Dow, Debbie served on many boards and committees while promoting leadership opportunities, and especially advancing the role of girls and women in STEM, business, and industry. She has been received several awards and recognitions, most recently being inducted into the Pioneer High School Athletics Hall of Fame in 2017. Debbie will provide the board with a voice of experience and leadership, serving with her lifelong love of Michigan Athletics.

Also joining us is recent alumnus Zach Nagelvort, hockey 2017. Zach earned his degree in Sport Management, and has a strong sense of the Michigan athletic community. He will bring his skills in media, marketing, and communications to our work as we continue to engage and grow our membership.

Stay tuned for an exciting 2018-19 season, Blue fans! We are here to serve and connect you back to your Michigan roots!